Reviews for “Doc’s Codicil”

Irene McIntosh (Bookseller) on NetGalley, July 1, 2015

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

Full Text: “Really enjoyed this book. It has been a very long time since an author has made me laugh out loud. A life lesson engagingly told. Take more time for squirrel fishing, deep water marine especially!”

Additional Questions:

Would you suggest your store carry this title? Yes
Are you likely to handsell this title? Yes
Would you recommend this title for the Indie Next List? (US only) Yes

 

Carolyn McVicker-Wilson (Reviewer) on NetGalley, Aug 24, 2015

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Full Text: “This book is quite quirky and very much of the love it or hate it school of writing. I loved it and was pleased to find a plot that was out of the ordinary.”

Additional Questions:

Are you reviewing this title for a publication? No
Would you purchase this book for yourself or a friend? Yes

 Anne-Marie Reynolds for Readers’ Favorite. Rating 5 Stars 5star-shiny-web

Doc’s Codicil by Gary F Jones is a humorous tale of inheritance. Doc has died and all the family are called together to see what they inherited, only to find that Doc has added a codicil to his will. If they want the money, they have to work for it, and they must do that by working out what the codicil actually means – “Take Doofus Squirrel Fishing.” The family must pull together on this one and work as a team if they want to inherit; and the only way they can work out what Doc meant is to read the story he wrote of what happened one Christmas season many years before. They must talk to his friends, they must go through his paperwork, and they must solve all the clues that lead to the answer. The inheritance may not be what it appears at first glance though, and sometimes people just need to learn a lesson they didn’t know they needed to be taught.

 

 

Christine DeSmet, mystery author, faculty associate and director, Write-by-the-Lake Writer’s Workshop & Retreat, University of Wisconsin-Madison (July 7, 2015).

Rating: not applicable

Full Text: “Doc’s Codicil by Gary F. Jones is entertaining, wise, and filled with touches of magical realism. I enjoyed following Doc—a dairy veterinarian—on his rounds with his unlikely guardian angel called Doofus. Doc’s family troubles and the authentic details of small-town life are charming and keep the plot moving at a good pace. And what the animals do (and think!) during the local Christmas Nativity play is downright hilarious. If you enjoyed movies where actor Jimmy Stewart conversed with a tall rabbit named Harvey and the angel Clarence in his search for wisdom, you’ll “get” this imaginative debut novel.”

 

Sarah Prueter (Librarian) on NetGalley (October 5, 2015)

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Full Text: Rather a unique concept for plot development. I liked it!

Additional Questions:

Is your library likely to purchase this title? Yes
Will you recommend this title through Readers’ Advisory, book clubs, events, etc? Yes

Xan Holbrook‘s review (GoodReads)  Nov 04, 15

 Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
I, for one, like my humour to be served cold and preferably to be laced with arsenic, so the subtle humorisms planted here should not have moved me the way they did, and yet somehow this was managed. One great disadvantage of American letters pertains to the lack of any great purveyors of soft comedy in fiction form – there are great humorists to be found in Non-Fiction, from Dorothy Parker to David Sedaris, and Christopher Buckley has been steadily drawing on the unhinged, dark excesses of Capitol Hill, but there are few, if any, comparisons from the US to, say, PG Wodehouse. Gary F. Jones still does not reach the level of the Dulwich Maestro, but he comes fairly close. An intimate and often gut-snaringly funny account of family life and Will Politics, this will generate an easy glow for any happy visitor to bask in.

Carol Wichman (Bookseller) on NetGalley (July 17, 2015)

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Full Text: “Humor wa great. Family search for clues to their inheritance leads to learn their mom and fathers wish for them.”

Additional Questions:

Would you suggest your store carry this title? Yes
Are you likely to handsell this title? No
Would you recommend this title for the Indie Next List? (US only) Yes

 

Paul Franco (Reviewer) on NetGalley, August 5, 2015

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Full Text: “This is one of those stories where the recently deceased leaves the descendants some puzzles to solve before they can receive the inheritance goodies. There’s the good girl, the guy who thinks it’s a waste of time, and other stock characters, though their interactions and thought processes as they try to solve the puzzles are stimulating enough. But most of the story is taken up by two historical threads, which are described in a book that is where the characters most look for clues. One concerns the dead man’s life as a veterinarian, while the other involves a Christmas pageant where everything that can go wrong does.
I will say that I learned far too much about veterinary medicine than could possibly be good for me. The humor sneaks up on you, especially with the character—if you can call him that—of Doofus (drawn faithfully and hilariously on the cover), although the crown of best individual goes to Gladys the camel. Though it seems to meander at times, in the end it does lead exactly to where the inheritance hunters need to go, if they can figure it out.
“If nothing else, whenever I need to get away from someone I can’t stand, I can say that I’m taking Doofus squirrel fishing. . .”
Additional Questions:

Are you reviewing this title for a publication? No
Would you purchase this book for yourself or a friend? Yes

 

Susan Rae (Educator) on NetGalley Review, 22Aug 2015

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Full Text: “Great book with interesting storyline. Lots of humour and I am left with a life long memory of Doofus going squirrel fishing!! A very enjoyable read.”

Additional Questions:

Will you adopt this title for a course or curriculum? No
Will you recommend that your students read or purchase this title? Yes

 

Tracy Shephard (Reviewer) on NetGalley (September 2, 2015)

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Additional Questions:

Cover Yes
Description Yes
Are you reviewing this title for a publication? Yes
Would you purchase this book for yourself or a friend? Yes

 

Sophie French (Reviewer) on NetGalley (July 12, 2015)

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Additional Questions:

Are you reviewing this title for a publication? Yes
Would you purchase this book for yourself or a friend? Yes